Lock Standards

Like many other types of products locks and hardware are tested and certified to specific standards and grades depending on their intended use. Standards usually refer to how secure a lock is, but can also relate to things such as durability. In most cases the standard is displayed either on the lock, key or the original packaging.

Here are some of the common Standards in use:


Commonly known as "British Standard" (with the BSI Kitemark logo) or "Insurance Approved". This classification is mainly used for mortice locks, but also on some high security night latches, that the door can be secured with the need to use a key from either side to open it. The standard first introduced in 1963 has been updated multiple times to keep the standard up to date. Therefore, you may see the standard with the revision year (i.e BS3621:1980, BS3621:1998, BS3621:2007, etc)


This newer standard is very similar to BS3621, with the main difference that a key is not required to open the lock from the inside. This aids with a quick escape in cases of emergencies. Commonly used for rented offices, flats, etc...


Not very common, this standard has the functionality of BS3621 and BS8621 that it can’t be locked from the inside, but can from the outside once the building is empty.


TS007 is a Technical Specification; a document produced by the Door and Hardware Federation and the Glass and Glazing Federation. TS007 is an enhancement of BS EN1303 to provide a higher level of security. A 3-star cylinder has several layers of built in protection as standard and can withstand a rigorous attack test. Commonly found on uPVC and composite doors and feature the BSI kitemark logo.

Some example TS007 locks include Yale Platinum and Avocet ABS.

BS EN 1303

BS EN 1303 classifies cylinders for locks using an 8-digit coding system. Each digit refers to a particular feature of the product measured against the standard's performance requirements.

EN 1303

Similar to BS EN 1303, but usually locks with only EN 1303 have only been tested internally or ‘conform’ to the standard, as where BS EN 1303 is independently tested.

Sold Secure SS 312

Enhanced security standard based on BS EN1303 that goes beyond TS007, created by Sold Secure (MLA) for cylinders. The Diamond Standard has several layers of built in protection as standard and have withstood a rigorous attack test.

Secure by Design

Secured by Design (SBD) is the UK Police initiative supporting the principles of “designing out crime” through the use of effective crime prevention and security standards for a range of applications.

PAS 24

PAS, short for Publicly Available Specification and created by DHF (Door and Hardware Federation), is a standard that means that every component used within the door set that is tested must comply to the relevant British Standard for that component.

PAS 3621

Essentially the equivalent of BS 3621, but for uPvc multi-point locks.

PAS 8621

Essentially the equivalent of BS 8621, but for uPvc multi-point locks.

PAS 10621

Essentially the equivalent of BS 10621, but for uPvc multi-point locks.

CEN Grade

CEN (Central European Norm) is a grading system used for Padlocks. Starts from Grade 1 (Low Security) up to Grade 6 (Maximum Security) and padlocks are graded according to their weakest attribute.

BS EN 12320

This classification, similar to CEN, is for padlocks and padlock fittings using a 7 digit coding system. Each digit refers to a particular feature of the product measured against the standard’s performance requirements.